Food, food, and more food! Oh and some catacombs

So much has happened over the past few weeks and I haven’t had anytime to write! Ugh!

A few weeks back a few of my friends and I went to a food truck festival in the Testaccio neighborhood. Testaccio is a neighborhood that has sort of remained untouched by tourists and has many great places to eat and a huge market to explore (more on that later). One 10 minute bus ride later and we were at the festival. We got to the food fest and there were trucks parked all around the perimeter of this field. I should mention that the Roman slaughter houses used to be in Testaccio, so a food festival was fitting for this location. The buildings have now been renovated and are beautiful on the inside, but I haven’t had the chance to go in them yet. As we walked onto the field the DJ was playing “Ring of Fire” by Johnny Cash so I felt right at home. After making a loop around to see what was being offered, we all decided on what we were going to eat. There was everything from burgers, to meatballs, to fish, to pastries. I decided to go with a classic pulled pork sandwich (very Italian, I know). Pulled pork is one of my favorites so I had high expectations for this sandwich and it didn’t disappoint. We picked a table to sit down at and we all dug in. All of us had noticed a truck called Poff Cakes and really wanted to try it out. Poff Cakes turned out to be mini pancakes with a variety of toppings of your choosing. I got them with Nutella and whipped cream and they were one of the best things I have ever had. After, we headed back to our apartments to take a much needed nap.

On Sunday Rebecca, Maddie, and I went to the Catacombs of St. Callixtus. I couldn’t spend 4 months in Rome and not visit them. There are so many different catacombs in Rome that you could never see them all. Once again we took a bus there and then walked on the Appia Antica to get there. The Appia Antica is the oldest road in Rome so it was pretty cool to walk on it. The park that the catacombs are located in is beautiful and we got there just as the sun was setting so I was able to get some great pictures on my camera. We got there just in time for the last tour of the day and our tour guide was great. We obviously went on the English tour so there were a bunch of people from the states and England on the tour, so it was a nice mix of people. The catacombs were really cool and I hope to be able to go back someday. 

The next weekend, I went on and Eating Italy food tour. The tour took place in the Testaccio neighborhood which is very close to my apartment and known for it’s delicious food. Our tour guide Emma was from Edinburgh and she was as sweet as could be. I started the tour off with a cappuccino and it was my first Italian coffee experience while in Italy. I’m not a coffee drinker, but I had to try one before I left. We then went to a little bakery where we were given a sample of tiramisu which was in a small tea cup made out of chocolate and a cornetto filled with cream. Next stop was the maccelleria next door where we tried some Parma ham and pecorino cheese. We then turned the corner and stopped at a Pizzeria and then made out way over to the Testaccio Market. They sell everything there, from food to boots. Ther market was really nice and it’s on my list of things to do again before I leave Rome in just four short weeks. At one of the stands we tried buffalo mozzarella and then had bruschetta that one of the vendors made from the tomatoes she was selling. Our final stop was at a very famous gelato place in Testaccio. They make all of the gelato in house and I found out that I have been eating a lot of fake gelato over the past few months. If the gelato looks too good to be true, it probably is. Gelato that looks very fluffy and is in piles in the trays is not authentic. If it is flat, you’re good to go. I also learned that by law you are allowed two scoops of gelato and whipped cream if you want it, but that’s only a law in Rome. As you can tell, I learned a lot on this tour haha

XOXO Maryrome

Next stop: SICILY

Leave a Reply

